PDA

Archiv verlassen und diese Seite im Standarddesign anzeigen : MD need help, no german

ubermensch
16.10.2006, 08:52
hi,

i'm sorry i don't speak german but i was wondering if any english speakers out there could help me. i'm a medical doctor and i would like to receive some training in surgery in germany.

any info you can share on vacancies or where i can apply or the nature of the programs will be greatly appreciated.

thanks a lot and long live germany :-top

eatpigsbarf
16.10.2006, 10:12
In order to help you, we need some more information, i. e. which surgical area youīre like to work in (general, visceral, thoracic. etc.) and what kind of hospital setting youīre d prefer (university, community...)

ubermensch
16.10.2006, 15:06
thanks eatpigsbarf, peculiar name by the way, well i'm interested in neurosurgery and i'd definitely prefer a university setting to a community med program. also do you know if i'd be required to know german as a prerequisite or is it ok if i learn it in my first year, i figure surgery is more technique based and fluency in german might not be as much of a requirement, is this a correct assessment.

thanks

Tombow
16.10.2006, 15:15
Language skills are a mandatory prerequisite in case you want to apply for an "approbation" (a permission to practice as a doctor) or a "professional permission". No way around it. The differences between the approbation and the professional permit is that only german/EU-citizen are eligible for the approbation and one can apply for it anytime while all other have to secure a contract and then apply for a professional permission.

How the matter is exactly handled, falls within the responsibility of the administration responsible for your application, some require a document proof that you have sufficient command of the language, some accept it as a proof when one submits his application personally so the clerk responsible for the whole thing gets a chance to see and speak you.