PDA

Archiv verlassen und diese Seite im Standarddesign anzeigen : Medical English – how to keep it going ?

Ricardos
07.03.2007, 12:55
Hoppla-Daisy asks the right question : What happened to your English when you left school? Well, I am not German but French (but we are all Europeans, right ?). In France we have exactly the same problem with English, probably worse in fact. Some of us are lucky to have spent time in the US or UK (or Japan like Kackbratze). But what about the rest of us ? I was fortunate to grow up in Australia but studied medicine in France. So I studied and worked with colleagues who forgot most of the English they learnt at school (and regretted it). A few years ago, together with some English medics/language teachers we put together a system called TALKING MEDICINE, based on regular listening practice of authentic, intellectually stimulating material. This was recently posted on the internet at http://www.talkingmedicine.com

I’d be interested to know what German medics think of it. Perhaps someone might post this information in a « German-speaking » part of the forum for colleagues who are too shy about coming to « in English Please »

Danke schön

BlondBondGirl
08.03.2007, 22:29
I know this sounds crazy, but rent ER, Scrubs and Grey's Anatomy and watch them in English! (You can start with German subtitles, progress to English subtitles, and then graduate to no subtitles to challenge yourself!) You would be amazed how much you can learn from that, especially if you plan on going to the states (and not just reading english journals!) and have to deal with idioms and accents.

I look forward to checking out your site! ;)

Sackbauer
08.03.2007, 22:31
Watching ER in English, with English subtitles, that's the way I trained before I went to the UK.

carov
12.03.2007, 15:49