PDA

Archiv verlassen und diese Seite im Standarddesign anzeigen : North American who wants to study in Germany + Age Limit

krzyboodah
11.03.2011, 01:55
Hi,

Thank you for this forum. It's great because I really need to get some straight answers.

I have a degree from UC Berkeley in the United States and am contemplating studying medicine abroad in Germany. I would like to study in the US but seeing all these stories of people with $100,000+ debt and really not enjoying being a doctor, it just doesn't make sense. To be practical, I'm thinking about becoming a Nurse or a Physician Assistant in the US; however, I am afraid I'd regret it if I don't do my best of trying to be a doctor before it truly doesn't make sense anymore.

I am not an EU citizen (US Citizen) and am currently 25. I am thinking I would go at around 30 to 1) work on my German and 2) work on my application. (any advice on how I should distinguish myself on the application?)

Would I have problems finding work?

Is 30 too old? Would that be a mark against me? Is there a mandatory retirement age?

Also, what would the training time be? I know it's 6 years for basic training but what about specialization? I probably would want to be an ER doc.

Finally, how would you rate the medical schools in terms of quality?

dantheg
12.03.2011, 05:20
First off, I wouldn't really worry about age being a problem, just remember that in Germany medicine is a 6 and a half year program and I do not think they would give you any credits. So the real question is if *you* are ok with being in your mid 30s when you get out of school and going into residency and dealing with being on call.