PDA

Archiv verlassen und diese Seite im Standarddesign anzeigen : Being an assistant doctor abroad and then working as a doctor in Germany?

carishma
07.03.2007, 20:10
hi,

I would like to know if I can do my assistant doctor in the UK, the USA or Australia and then work as a `full entitled`doctor back in Germany.

Im studying in Germany right now but thinking of doing the assistance abroad (because of the strict conditions here)....is that possible?
Will the german authorities acknowledge this?

And what kind of certificate will I get there? How are the conditions there? Has anyone made some experiences already?

Evil
08.03.2007, 14:18
As long as you stay within the EU (UK, Ireland) there won't be any problem. As for the other countries I'm not sure, you should ask the Ärztekammer.
Perhaps you need to do some kind of clerkship (Anerkennungsjahr) then.

Sackbauer
08.03.2007, 20:42
You wouldn't call it "assistant doctor", again, literal translations from German are wrong in most cases. It's called "registrar" in UK, NZ, AUS, and "resident" in the US/CA.

Evil
08.03.2007, 22:20
I don't think so, Sackbauer, the German "Assistenzarzt" is more like the house officer or senior house officer. The Registrars should be "Fachärzte". And the Consultants are more or less "Oberärzte" or "Leitende Oberärzte".

Well, that's what I saw in Ireland and I think it's the same in the UK, isn't it?

Sackbauer
08.03.2007, 22:28
I don't think so, Sackbauer, the German "Assistenzarzt" is more like the house officer or senior house officer. The Registrars should be "Fachärzte". And the Consultants are more or less "Oberärzte" or "Leitende Oberärzte".

Nope, you are wrong.

A registrar is a doctor in training to become a consultant, the latter is equivalent to a "Facharzt". There is nobody above a consultant in the english system, so OA or ltd-OA don't exist here.

Evil
08.03.2007, 22:43
Of course, the whole structure is completely different so it's useless to compare it like that.