PDA

Archiv verlassen und diese Seite im Standarddesign anzeigen : Belgian medical student.

Cooldude
16.08.2007, 03:36
Hi,

I'm a belgian medical student and I would like to ask some questions.
For the moment I'm in my 7th and last year of medical school, at the end of this year(june 2008) I will be a doctor.
The last year in Belgium is a year where you work in the hospital on the department of your choice.
I want to become an orthopaedic surgeon but this year we are with way too much candidates.(14 and only 5 will be allowed)So,my chances aren't very big.
My question was, is there a chance for me to do the "weiterbildung" in Germany?
Are there prescriptions for foreign students?
Is orthopadie very popular in germany?or can you start immediately?
And every other info about the weiterbildung orthopadie is welcome.

And yes, I write in English, so the language is also a problem. But I have already a basic knowledge German, but if I can start in a german hospital I will follow some courses German first.

Thanks

Cooldude
18.08.2007, 11:07
I notice that I don't get any answers on my questions.
Can somebody plz answer to some of my questions???
I can understand that it is not interesting to answer me cause you don't want foreigners to take a place in Germany but we are all european medical students and in Belgium we have german students too.
So, to the good souls, give an answer plz.

Tombow
18.08.2007, 11:36
To answer some of your questions:

"Weiterbildung" is not the correct word for what you're aiming for. Here in Germany the last year is reffered to as "Practical Year" or colloquially as "PJ" (from the german abbreviation). "Weiterbildung" refers to the residency following graduation (which comes after the PJ).

The PJ is different from Belgium - you have to undergo 4-month stints in inner medicine, surgery and in a department of your choice. So a whole year in orthopedic surgery is simply not possible.